I want to run, cook and save money.

I decided that instead of trying to make a whole list of goals, that I would just commit to three goals.

  1. run a 5k
  2. cook a new recipe every week
  3. save 6k by the end of the year. (Emergency Fund and new computer)

On running…

I think the reason I have failed to run is because I have rested on my laurels. Mai, you trained for a half marathon! But I realize that I am no longer at that level and I get frusrated. But where I am at that I can run 2 or 3 miles without having to train, which is great. So the start is to run a 5k to realize, that I can run. And here’s the perfect race for my comeback – the Sun City 5k. The race is in town, and I get to run through some apple orchards. And the date is just right — Oct. 14. It gives me about six weeks to shape up. Since I’m not starting from scratch, that is absolutely doable.

On cooking and baking …

I have a lot of cookbooks and I love to do it, but I realize that I often just look at the cookbooks and don’t try any of them. I was pretty inspired by Jerome’s mom when I was at his parents house the other night. She has all these cookbooks, but she actually tries the recipes out. She marks the recipes with those sticky marker things and she makes notes. How rad is that?

On saving money…

My computer is on its last legs. I’ve had it for more than five years now, and it’s literally falling apart. I love my mac at work and want my next computer to be a MacBook Pro. But the computer is expensive — about $2,000. Also I need to improve on my emergency fund to $4,000, which would give me at least 4 to 5 months of expenses should something happen.

So there you have it. My three goals until the end of the year. I’ll try to work on these and keep you all updated on how I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

