Goodbye, Seattle PI.

custom_1237225343273_pi

I have the final printed edition in my hands, purchased for $1.00. But to me, that paper will be priceless. It represents so many things.

  • The end of a two-newpspaer town
  • The realization that yes, print newspapers will die, and it will happen sooner, not later
  • The destruction of dreams and hopes for 100 or so journalists, photographers, copy editors and other staff members who worked for years, their entire lives to develop their craft.
  • The beginning of the digital age of newspapers, which is scary for many.

So where does that put me? I am exploring, thinking, brainstorming on what this new age of journalism means for someone like myself, a 20-something reporter who has pursue the path for more than a decade.

I guess I have time to develop a new career. But I’m not just ready to give up this one yet.

One response to “Goodbye, Seattle PI.

  1. I hope printed newspaper don’t die. I do however believe that this is a beginning of a new age of newspapers. The only thing that I know is that the evolution will be unpredicable. Good luck with your soul searching. I’m very happy for you that it’s not a forced issue with a short deadline.

Leave a Reply

